Watch football with us

Copa América

Copa América
Number of teams:12
Fixture & Results

CONMEBOL Copa América, known until 1975 as the South American Football Championship (Campeonato Sudamericano de Fútbol in Spanish and Campeonato Sul-americano de Futebol (Portugal) ou Copa Sul-Americana de Futebol (Brazil) in Portuguese), is a men's international football tournament contested between national teams from CONMEBOL. It is the oldest international continental football competition. The competition determines the continental champion of South America. Since the 1990s, teams from North America and Asia have also been invited to participate.

Since 1993, the tournament has generally featured 12 teams – all 10 CONMEBOL teams and two additional teams from other confederations. Mexico has participated in every tournament since 1993, with one additional team drawn from CONCACAF, except for 1999, when AFC team Japan filled out the 12-team roster. The 2016 version of the event, Copa América Centenario, featured sixteen teams, with six teams from CONCACAF in addition to the 10 from CONMEBOL. Mexico's two runner-up finishes are the highest for a non-CONMEBOL side.

Eight of the ten CONMEBOL national teams have won the tournament at least once in its 45 stagings since the event's inauguration in 1916, with only Ecuador and Venezuela yet to win. Uruguay has the most championships in the tournament's history, with 15 cups, while the current champion, Chile, has two cups. Argentina, which hosted the inaugural edition in 1916, has hosted the tournament the most times (nine). The United States is the only non-CONMEBOL country to host, having hosted the event in 2016. On three occasions (in 1975, 1979, and 1983), the tournament was held in multiple South American countries.

The highest finishing member of CONMEBOL has the right to participate in the next edition of the FIFA Confederations Cup, but is not obliged to do so.

Round: Сезон:
Group A
 1 Brazil Brazil32108087
 2 Venezuela Venezuela31203125
 3 Peru Peru311136-34
 4 Bolivia Bolivia300329-70
Group B
 1 Colombia Colombia33004049
 2 Argentina Argentina31113304
 3 Paraguay Paraguay302134-12
 4 Qatar Qatar301225-31
Group C
 1 Uruguay Uruguay32107257
 2 Chile Chile32016246
 3 Japan Japan302137-42
 4 Ecuador Ecuador301227-51
Group A
 1 Brazil Brazil21103034
 2 Venezuela Venezuela10100001
 3 Bolivia Bolivia200226-40
 4 Peru Peru100105-50
Group B
 1 Colombia Colombia22002026
 2 Paraguay Paraguay10102201
 3 Argentina Argentina201113-21
 4 Qatar Qatar100102-20
Group C
 1 Uruguay Uruguay21106244
 2 Ecuador Ecuador201123-11
 3 Chile Chile100101-10
 4 Japan Japan100104-40
Group A
 1 Venezuela Venezuela21103124
 2 Peru Peru21103124
 3 Brazil Brazil11005053
 4 Bolivia Bolivia100103-30
Group B
 1 Argentina Argentina11002023
 2 Colombia Colombia11002023
 3 Qatar Qatar201123-11
 4 Paraguay Paraguay201112-11
Group C
 1 Chile Chile22006156
 2 Uruguay Uruguay11001013
 3 Japan Japan20203302
 4 Ecuador Ecuador100104-40


Copa América. Fixture. Results.

^ Up